Welcome to

our workshop

The workshop Poterie Tournesol

Noël VASSARD and Gilles QUENAON established the Poterie Tournesol on the French Riviera in 1973, in Tourrettes-sur-Loup in the Alpes Maritimes region, near Vence and Saint Paul de Vence.
We work with stoneware, porcelain, ceramic and terracotta in our workshop in the heart of the old village.
We create a variety of decorative and practical objects in decorated stoneware and porcelain. We work using the traditional method of throwing on a potter’s wheel.
Our originality lies primarily in the creation of personalised decorative plaques for the home, which are made to order. We also make house numbers, orientation tables, village maps, shields and street signs in the style of the villages who request them.

Our personalised door plaques are made for you, and for anyone who wants to enhance the entrance to their home. They will decorate the front of your house or your gate, and bring the personalised touch you’re looking for.
They are also the ideal present for a variety of occasions, such as weddings, housewarmings birthdays etc…. each plaque is unique and made entirely by hand.
The choice of size and design is yours. There are many themes to choose from: professions, animals, flowers, landscapes… and we can also work from any document you would like to share with us (photos, sketches etc.).

The photos of our creations, which you can see on our website, may also be a source of inspiration for you. Simply tell us the text and style of lettering you would like to see on your plaque: first name, surname, house name, number.
Our plaques are made from stoneware which is engraved and then glazed. A firing temperature of 1280° means they are resistant to all weather conditions and won’t be affected by frost or sun.
The images are engraved onto the clay and then painted with enamel made from metal oxides. Glazing is a highly skilled art which can only be perfected over many years of practice and through continual research. We are open every day and look forward to welcoming you in our workshop/boutique.

Gallery

1384total visits,16visits today

Bienvenue dans

notre atelier

L’atelier Poterie Tournesol

Noël VASSARD et Gilles QUENAON ont créé la Poterie Tournesol en 1973, sur la Côte d’Azur, à Tourrettes-sur-Loup dans les Alpes Maritimes, près de Vence et de Saint Paul de Vence.
Nous travaillons le grès, la porcelaine, la céramique et la terre cuite dans notre atelier-boutique au cœur du vieux village.
Nous créons de nombreux objets décoratifs et utilitaires en grès et en porcelaine décorés. Notre travail s’effectue de manière traditionnelle, par tournage.
Notre originalité réside surtout dans la fabrication, sur demande, de plaques personnalisées décoratives pour la maison. Nous réalisons également des numéros de rue, des tables d’orientation, des plans de village, des blasons et des plaques de rue dans le style des villages qui en font la demande.

Nos plaques de portes personnalisées sont faites pour vous et pour tous ceux qui désirent mettre leur entrée en valeur. Elles décoreront votre façade ou votre portail, et leur apporteront cette touche personnelle que vous recherchez.
Elles sont aussi le cadeau idéal pour de nombreuses occasions, telles qu’un mariage, une pendaison de crémaillère, un anniversaire etc… chaque plaque est une pièce unique réalisée entièrement à la main.
A vous de choisir sa dimension et d’en imaginer le décor. Les thèmes sont nombreux: illustration de métiers, animaux, fleurs, paysages… et nous travaillons aussi d’après tout document que vous nous confierez (photos, esquisses etc).

Les photos de nos créations, que vous trouverez sur notre site, pourront également vous inspirer. Indiquez-nous le texte et le style de lettrage que vous désirez voir figurer sur votre plaque: prénom, nom de famille, nom de villa, numéro.
Nos plaques sont réalisées en grès gravé puis émaillé; grâce à une cuisson à 1280°, elles résistent à toutes les conditions climatiques. Ni le gel ni le soleil ne peuvent les altérer.
Les dessins sont gravés dans la masse et ensuite décorés au pinceau avec des émaux à base d’oxydes métalliques. L’émaillage requiert un savoir-faire parfaitement maîtrisé, fruit de longues années de pratiques er de recherches constantes.
Notre atelier-boutique vous accueille tous les jours.

Galerie

1385total visits,17visits today